I just want to be loved

                                                                                                                                 To my sisters in suffering

Let me come in where you are weeping, friend,
And let me take your hand.
I, who have known a sorrow such as yours,
Can understand.
Let me come in – I would be very still
Beside you in your grief.
I would not bid you cease your weeping, friend,
Tears bring relief.
Let me come in – I would only breath a prayer,
And hold your hand,
For I have known a sorrow such as yours,
And understand.

by Grace Noll Crowell

 

 

There are many women who are living with some form of domestic abuse in their marriage.  It is heartbreaking to know that so many women are suffering with physical or verbal abuse by a spouse who had once vowed before God to love and cherish her forever.  God’s plan for a man and a woman who marry was for them to be a demonstration of Christ’ love for his church.  That is not what is happening as more than 50% of today’s marriages end in divorce.  Sadly, some of the rest are just existing in loveless, lonely marriages. 

While it is true that God hates divorce, there are times when a woman may be in danger if she remains in her marriage.  Abuse in any form should never be tolerated.  It is a difficult subject but one that must be addressed.  One of  my dear friends, Anna Wood, has a wonderful Christian site which helps women deal with the pain of abuse.  Her blog, At the end of myself….at the feet of Jesus, gives many great messages of loving support to those women who feel alone and weary from enduring the control and abuse from a spouse.  I hope you will check out this site and let God speak to your heart by the messages of hope.

In addition, I want you to know that I am praying for anyone who needs help with a marriage struggle.  I know that when you face a troubling situation like this in your marriage that may feel that you can’t tell anyone.  You may be afraid.  My heart is burdened for women who struggle in a relationship because they feel that they are unworthy or don’t deserve anything better.  That is a lie from hell sent to keep you in bondage.  Christ has deemed you worthy to be a joint heir with him in heaven.  He loved you enough to die to give you life and a future with promise.  He has a plan for your future no matter what painful trial you are in right now.  God has not left your side and he will see you through your pain.  I pray that God will give you peace and the strength to do what you must do and to know that his love for you will never fail.

