A good father brings honor to GodRecently, I visited the blog, CHRIST CENTERED LOVE,  and I was touched by the message contained in the article on fathers.  It broke my heart and I pray that it touches the hearts of everyone who reads it.  Children need the love and guidance of a father who cares and leads them.  The struggles that children face as they grow up can be tied in to whether they were secure and unconditionally loved while they were a child.  A good father, like the one pictured here, will touch eternity with the life of his daughter as he raises her in the ways of Christ.

What if this was your Father’s Day card?

As father’s day approaches, it’s a time for reflection on the role of a father.  Sadly, there are many ”professing Christians” that don’t understand the impact that they have had on their children.  They don’t see the damage that they have done with their lies, hypocracy, and ”religion”.

What if your child sent this card to you on Father’s Day? 

Dad,

I wish you would have set a better example for me. 

I wish you would have realized that work, video games, and time on your computer weren’t as important as the time you could have spent with me.

I wish you would have loved Mom with the kind of love that the Bible talks about.  The kind of love that would have kept our family together.   The kind of love that overlooked her mistakes, and cherished her for all that she did for you and for us.

I wish you would have understood that the love and commitment you showed toward your parents was the kind of love and commitment that I felt toward you, and wished you would have felt towards me.

I wish you knew how much I love you.  That I overlooked your mistakes, and just enjoyed having you as my dad.

I wish you knew how much it hurt me when you lied to me.  When you told me you loved me.  When you told me you would never do anything to hurt me.  When you told me you’d always be there for me……and then you weren’t.

What I wish the most, is that you knew Jesus.  If you did, this Father’s Day card would say Thank You for all of those things instead of “I wish”.

Happy Father’s Day anyway Dad.  I love you, and I have forgiven you.  I pray every day that the Lord will heal you, and bring you back to me.  In the meantime, I have a Heavenly Father that loves me enough to fill the hole in my heart.

Your child.

Ephesians 6:4

Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

Colossians 3:21

Fathers, do not provoke your children, lest they become discouraged.

 

I am praying for anyone who needs to see this message and understand that even if their worldly father fails them, they will always have a heavenly Father who will be there.  I also pray that fathers will stand up and take the role of leader of their home and priest of their family very seriously.  God himself holds men accountable to how they treat their wives and children. 

