Sunset

When all of your hope is drifting away in the sea of problems and trials of this world, it helps to focus on what is true and Who is your source of strength. If you belong to Christ, there is always a reason to hold on because He lives to intercede for you and to bring you the victory through all of your troubles. Never give up when the lies of the enemy make you falter in your faith. Hold on and be strong. Your God is with you and you must trust that He is working all things out for your good and for His purpose.

The article below was taken from the blog, Six Measures of Barley. I hope you will be as blessed by it as I was. Remember that you are never alone to fight your battles and that you are already declared a victor.

Do Not Give Up On Your Promise

Last week at church during the worship service, I felt Holy Spirit reminding me this verse from Psalm 46:10 ” Be still and know that I am God” . Usually when God speaks that verse to me, I will be in a state of fidgeting ,rumbling over many little things and trying to figure out things by my own. Just how a pacifier does its trick on a screaming baby, I calm down as soon as I hear that verse. It has always taught me to be peaceful in the midst of many storms. But this time when I heard that verse in the quietude of my soul, I knew that the emphasis was not on me being still , but on the latter part…’to know that I am God’. I knew that God is asking me to know Him better as the one who is working on my behalf when I am still.

To understand that better, God took me to one of the Old Testament stories..the story of Joseph. Joseph was a dreamer. God had put His purpose upon Joseph in the form of dreams and visions. But the journey to its fulfillment was not that easy. The day, his brethren realized that Joseph has something from The Lord, they plotted against him. It is not often ‘YOU’ but the vision that God has put in you that bothers others. They put him in the pit hoping that this could be the end of his visions. In that pit, Joseph experienced misunderstanding, rejection and betrayal from his own. But in that pit, he learned to be still and know his God who is able to fulfill his dreams.

The adversary tried to tempt Joseph and sidetrack him from achieving his purpose. The distractions and temptations at Potiphar’s house did not deviate his focus from The Lord. I have read somewhere that ‘If Satan cannot get us to sin by withholding our needs, he will try to by offering us what we desire. ‘But joseph overcame the allurement and the distractions of the enemy. In the prison, when the cupbearer’s dream was interpreted, Joseph waited for a chance to be mentioned to the King, but even when human forgetfulness ruined his hope, Joseph learned to be still and waited for his Lord to act for him.

In the solitude of the prison, though it seemed like ages, the beauty of God’s promise remained fresh and bright as the day he first received it from The Lord. He did not offer anything from his own to speed up the fulfillment of God’s promise in his life . Neither did he give up on his dreams considering the long wait and unfavorable conditions. Rather…he waited…learned to be still…knowing who God is and trusting that He will work for him. And Pharaoh’ s chariots did come for Joseph looking for someone to interpret the dreams and that day changed his life completely.

Do you carry a dream of God? Are you conceived with a promise from God? Just like Mary, you know that which has birthed in you is from the Holy Spirit. But what about others? Do they look at you and say,” here comes the dreamer!” In this journey between conception and birth you might go through many pits of betrayal and misunderstandings. Remember that nothing can destroy the seed that God has put in you…circumstances, people, the plots of the enemy..the four walls of man made boundaries…nothing can stop you from receiving what God has purposed for you. Don’t give up on your promise just because your circumstances are unfavorable. Be still in this wait and trust God to work for you. Remember that all things work together for good for those who love Him. And at the end of it all, you will be able to look back and say along with Joseph, “God meant it for good in order to bring about this present result.” (Genesis 50:20) THAT my friends, is a dream worth waiting for!

God Bless,
Rani John
Redeemed Ministries

Taken from Six Measures of Barley

