Rhonda - Forums of the Heart
The very word brokenness means that something that was whole has been fragmented. In the stripping down of the human soul, brought on by the conviction of the Holy Spirit, the life of a Christian is left without excuse not to surrender completely to GOD. For instance, whenever GOD is going to bring you to a higher platform of spiritual maturity or service in Him, He has to break you. This is a process I’ve had to experience.

I realized it wasn’t done to do me harm, but to develop me; in order to use me for His purpose. In John 12:24 it says, “Verily, verily, I say unto you, except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.” Dying to myself yielded life through Jesus. GOD will make you hungry before He feeds you.

He strips you before He robes you. He makes nothing of you before making something of you. You may ask, how can something be broken and yet still be intact? In accepting GOD’s complete authority over your life, you are made complete in the process of being broken.

A.W. Tozer once said, “It is doubtful whether GOD can bless a man greatly until He has hurt him deeply.” Whether it was financial brokenness, relational brokenness, emotional brokenness, or physical brokenness; it brought me to a place of humility and dependency in Him. I learned that no resistance or self-will is within the heart of a person that is completely broken before the LORD. This is when our lives can be more fruitful and have the most purpose.

GOD is at work in our lives, shaping and making us into the people He longs for us to be, so that we might bring glory to Him and be of maximum use to Him in His kingdom. I had to choose to yield to brokenness and allow GOD to renew me as He desires…even if that meant enduring severe trials and testing. I became aware that brokenness can be a path toward great blessing, but only when I let GOD do the breaking in me.

By His Grace,

~Rhonda

From Forums of the Heart

